12 Days ‘til Christmas… Eggnog

I was at a friend’s house collecting some items to borrow for my Christmas/birthday party this weekend. Erica and I seem to watch our December birthdays go by in the same blur that our friends do during the frenzy of the Season. We decided to combine our birthday years and our celebration would be our 101st birthday, together of course, I mean collectively our years on this earth. Anyway my friend picked up an old bottle of Spiced Rum in her garage that she accidentally purchased for a party and thrust it into my hands and stated, “Use it with the eggnog at your party”. As I dusted off the bottle and placed it in the car, I was surprised I had left this concoction off the party list. I adore eggnog and it was an excellent idea.

My mom use to love eggnog and it was a family Christmas tradition. As I stroll down the dairy isle at our local Von’s Grocery store, I can’t help but place a carton in my basket. I struggle with the “light” version, which consistency is like a watered down version, but the calories at this time of year are waning. I opt for the really good stuff, after all we have rum to add and it just would not do the drink justice.

The original eggnog brought to this country from Europe was mixed with, of all things, beer and wine. The prevalence of rum made it a natural substitution and I would think a better idea.

I can smell, taste and feel the texture without bringing it to my lips. I found this awesome recipe, so raise your glasses to this holiday festive drink by making your own (or angle a carton at the grocery market):

Eggnog

Beat a dozen eggs in blender for one minute on medium speed. Slowly add 2 1/4 cups of sugar and blend for one additional minute. With the blender still running, add 3 teaspoons of freshly-grated nutmeg, 1 1/12 cups of Amontillado sherry, 1 1/2 cups of anejo tequila, 4 1/2 cups of whole milk and 3 cups of heavy cream until combined. Chill thoroughly to allow flavors to combine.

Leave a Reply

